Bismarck School Board

  • There are five School Board Members. The terms are 4-years long. The election is the second Tuesday in June. There is no limit to the number of terms a Board Member may serve. The Board elects officers at the July annual meeting including President and Vice President. Board Members receive agendas and related materials the week before meetings such as staff reports, background information, financial data, and other relevant materials. Board Members may contact the Superintendent for clarification of a particular item or to request additional information and background reports before the meeting.

    Mission: "Empower every learner to thrive."
    Vision: "Together, our strong relationships build inclusive, collaborative, and innovative environments that create agency and inspire a passion for learning, excellence, and discovery."

Board President

  • Board member Jon Lee head shot Jon Lee
    Bread Poets
    First Term Ends: 2022



Board Vice President

  • head shot of board member Dan Eastgate Dan Eastgate 
    Realtor, Venture Real Estate
    Area Director, Bismarck-Mandan Young Life
    First Term Ends: 2024

Board Member

  • Karl Lembke Karl Lembke
    Insurance Producer
    Vaaler Insurance
    Second Term Ends: 2022

Board member

Board Member

  • Board Member Matt Sagsveen Headshot  Matt Sagsveen
    Solicitor General
    Manager, Civil Litigation, Natural Resources,
     and Indian Affairs Division
    Third Term Ends: 2022